Sunday Scribbles: “To whom shall we go?”

img_4349

Octobers are beautiful for a number of reasons: The weather begins to be bearable, we’re in the full swing of football season, the holidays are close enough to taste (and decorate), the list goes on and on. Today, I’m grateful for October because I have the privilege to hear from a prophet of God.

In the LDS faith, we have what we call General Conference every April and October, where the leaders of the church speak to us, guide us, and help us understand what God needs us to know. As I listened to General Conference yesterday and today, I was touched by the simplicity of the doctrine shared. It all boiled down to one basic principle: follow Christ.

The topics ranged from gratitude to service to prayer to faith and back again, but Jesus Christ was central to them all. I LOVE that, because it is so true! No matter our background or our circumstances, any sincere improvement we try to make in our lives begins and ends with the Savior. Do I want my prayers to be more sincere? Well, then I better follow Christ’s example of willingness. Do I want to be strong against temptation? Then the foundation of my life and testimony needs to be Christ. Do I want to return to live with God again? Then I need to trust in the Savior and His Atonement and repent.

Just as my improvements need to revolve around Christ, so does my life. He isn’t just there when times are hard and I need to change, He is there when times are easy and I need to grow; He is there when times are happy and I need to be grateful; He is simply always there.

I feel like this Conference focused on many different aspects of the Savior and His Atonement. These include:

  • Being grateful and not taking for granted the precious doctrine that I have because of my Savior
  • Serving and loving Christ as I show others charity
  • Following Christ’s example of prayer and complete willingness to obey God
  • Because of Christ, I always have a second chance; I am always good enough to be saved
  • Being a valiant Christian by being in His service
  • The Atonement is God’s gift to me, purchased at a high price
  • The Savior sees divine potential in me
  • His love for me is always there
  • Trusting and having faith in Christ’s teachings
  • Being motivated, focused, and dedicated to Christ’s work
  • Teaching others about Christ and His gospel
  • Christ is the source of all joy
  • Remembering the Atonement as I take the Sacrament
  • Because of the Atonement, I can always, always, always repent
  • The importance of truly worshipping Him, rather than just going through the motions
  • Following Christ’s example in judgment; loving and saving rather than condemning
  • Coming to know the Savior instead of just knowing OF Him
  • Following and living the doctrine of Christ
  • Remembering the teachings of Christ
  • Christ will help me through my suffering

The sessions of this General Conference were saturated with Christ and His teachings. It was a much needed reminder of all that Christ can and will do for me and all that I need to continue and begin doing for Him. In short, remember Jesus Christ and follow Him.

My testimony and resolve to more fully follow Christ was strengthened this weekend. My thoughts echo those of Peter in John’s account:

“Then said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away? Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life. And we believe and are sure that thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.” (John 6:67-69)

 

Favorite Conference Quotes:
uchtdorf-quote-oct-16

nelson-quot-oct-16

uceda-quote-oct-16
cornish-oct-1614563529_1108639232566013_5369757126260367560_n

 

 

Leave a comment