Spoiler Alert: No one gets out alive anyway.

20160915_190724000_ios

If you know me very well, you know that I have a slight case of hypochondria/paranoia. Recently, my husband has been watching House to “stay motivated for medical school” and I’m in full blown “I just coughed so I must have a rare but deadly disease” mode. It’s exhausting to be this worried about something that doesn’t exist. I should go lie down.

Okay, but let’s be honest, I really do worry about things WAY too much. I’m a planner. I have to always have a plan and a back up plan and a back up back up plan. It’s a little obsessive. In some ways it’s good – it keeps me on track – but part of me wishes I was less worrisome, and that’s why I LOVE quotes/scriptures/stories about faith and trust and courage.

This is one of my absolute favorites:

our-doubts-are-traitors-image

That’s from Measure for Measure by Shakespeare. It makes my soul happy and, honestly, is a lot of the reason that I’ve taken the steps that I have recently.

I know you’re probably sick of hearing about my “leaps of faith” and “new opportunities” but that’s really what they are for me. I totally have to set aside my fears and worries and walk by faith and let me tell you, it is exhilarating. To have little control and just trust is incredibly difficult, but it changes you. I am SO glad I did it. For even just a moment, I have wings and I’m flying on faith. And even if I fail and fall, at least I’ll be “failing forward.”*

So I guess the moral of the story is don’t take life too seriously. After all, no one gets out alive anyway. 🙂

 

*Quote from C.S. Lewis: “Failures, repeated failures, are finger posts on the road to achievement. One fails forward toward success.”

 

 

 

Leave a comment